Member Area

Institute of Social Work


The Rector is the Chief Executive of the Institute answerable to the Board of Governors for the general administration and management of the Institute. She is also the Secretary to the Board of Governors as well as the spokesperson of the Institute.


The Institute has two main directorates namely Directorate of Academics headed by the Deputy Rector – Academics, Research and Consultancy and the Directorate of Finance and Administration headed by the Deputy Rector – Planning, Finance and Administration. In each directorate there are various departments and units which are managed by heads of departments and coordinators as indicated in Table

Executive Officers/ Heads of Departments/Units and their responsibilities

Executive Officers
Dr. Joyce NyoniRector
Prof. Sotco Claudius KombaDeputy Rector – Academics, Research and Consultancy
Prof. Justin K. UrassaDeputy Rector – Planning, Finance and Administration
Heads of Departments and Units
Dr. William ManyamaHead, Social Work Department
Dr. Polycarp AfricanusHead, Labour Studies Department
Dr. Judith MsangiHead, Human Resource Management Department
Athumani SenzotaChief Accountant
Rukia MwinyiCoordinator, Postgraduate Studies
Dr. Joseph PessaRegistrar
Amina MakokoChief Internal Auditor
Peter MangalaHead of Legal Unit
Palma WalterPlanning Officer
Benedict NkwaoPublic Relations Officer
Dustan HauleCoordinator, Situated Distance Learning and Institute Counselling Centre
Dr. Saliel KanzaHead, Library Service Department
Dr. Dominic NkolimwaHead, Research and Consultancy Department
Dr. Andrew RandaDean of Students
Dr. Charles NgirwaHead, Quality Assurance Unit
Charles KajanaHuman Resource Manager
N. BigageHead, Procurement Management Unit
Abasi IbrahimCoordinator ICT Unit